GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEAVY INDUSTRIES AND PUBLIC ENTERPRISES DEPARTMENT OF HEAVY INDUSTRY

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.41 TO BE ANSWERED ON 16.11.2016

Loss making cement manufacturing units

41. DR. R. LAKSHMANAN:

Will the Minister of HEAVY INDUSTRIES AND PUBLIC ENTERPRISES be pleased to state:

- (a) the year-wise details of cement factories, which were established by Cement Corporation of India since its inception in 1965;
- (b) details of cement manufacturing units which are functioning profitably as on date;
- (c) whether any cement manufacturing units are/were closed in the past due to continuous loss/non-profit;
- d) if so, the details thereof;
- (e) whether any proposal is pending with Government to set up any cement manufacturing unit in the State of Tamil Nadu by Cement Corporation of India; and
- (f) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEAVY INDUSTRIES AND PUBLIC ENTERPRISES (SHRI BABUL SUPRIYO)

(a): The year-wise details of Cement factories established by CCI since its inception are as given below:-

S.	Unit	Year of Commissioning
No		
1.	Mandhar in 1970	
	Chhattisgarh	
2.	Kurkunta in 1972	
	Karnataka	
3.	Bokajan in 1977	
	Assam	
4.	Rajban in Himachal Pradesh	1980
5.	Akaltara in Chhattisgarh	1981
6.	Charkhidadri in Haryana	1981
7.	Nayagaon and Nayagaon clinkerisation	1982
	in	
	Madhya Pradesh	1990
8.	Yerraguntla	1982
	In Andhra Pradesh	Sold to M/s.ICL in 1998
9.	Adilabad in Telangana	1984
10.	Tandur in Telangana	1987
11.	Delhi Grinding Unit	1990

- (b): All the three operating units of CCI i.e. Bokajan in Assam, Rajban in Himachal Pradesh, and Tandur in Telangana were in profits in 2015-16 as per the Audited Accounts.
- (c) and (d): In the past, the operation of seven non-operating units was stopped due to operating losses and shortage of working capital. As per Sanctioned Scheme (SS-06) of CCI, the seven non-operating plants are to be sold and sale proceeds to be utilized for up gradation of three operating plants.

Details of 7 non-operating plants are given below:

S. No	Unit	State wise	Non-operational since
1.	Akaltara	Janjgir-Champa Chhattisgarh	09.12.1996
2.	Mandhar	Chhattisgarh	06.06.1996
3.	Adilabad	Telangana	05.11.1998
4.	Nayagaon	Madhya Pradesh	30.06.1997
5.	Charkhidadri	Haryana	14.08.1996
6.	Kurkunta	Karnataka	01.11.1998
7.	Delhi Grinding unit	New Delhi	08.02.1999

As per directive of BIFR, 6 non-operating plants were closed w.e.f 31.08.2008 and Adilabad could not be closed due to stay granted by Hon'ble Court of Andhra Pradesh.

- (e): There is no proposal for setting up any Cement Manufacturing unit in the State of Tamilnadu.
- (f): Does not arise.

(