GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HEAVY INDUSTRIES AND PUBLIC ENTERPRISES DEPARTMENT OF HEAVY INDUSTRY

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1317 TO BE ANSWERED ON 28.07.2015

Benefits to Differently Abled

1317. SHRI P. NAGARAJAN:

Will the Minister of HEAVY INDUSTRIES AND PUBLIC ENTERPRISES be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has any proposal to provide concessions to differently abled persons for purchasing a car;
- (b) if so, the details thereof; and
- (c) the number of beneficiaries extended such concession/benefits for the last three years, Statewise?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HEAVY INDUSTRIES AND PUBLIC ENTERPRISES (SHRI G.M. SIDDESHWARA)

(a)&(b): Yes Madam,

The Ministry of Finance has allowed the concessional rate for excise duty as against the applicable rate on cars being able to be driven by the physically differently abled; or which has been suitably designed to be able to be driven by physically differently abled persons.

In order to avail this concession, intended beneficiary is required to take Eligibility Certificate to be issued by Department of Heavy Industry, as per prescribed guidelines.

(c): the number of beneficiaries extended such concession/benefits for the last three years, State-wise is annexed.

<u>State-wise (including UT) list of differently abled person who have availed/have been issued Excise Duty Concession Certificate during the last three years [2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015(upto 20.07.2015)].</u>

Sl.No.	State	2012	2013	2014	2015
					upto 20.07.2015
1.	Andaman & Nicobar Island (UT)	-	-	-	-
2.	Andhra Pradesh	07	05	07	06
3.	Arunachal Pradesh	-	-	-	-
4.	Assam	-	-	-	-
5.	Bihar	-	-	-	-
6.	Chandigarh (UT)	04	08	03	02
7.	Chhattisgarh	-	-	01	01
8.	Dadra and Nagar Haveli (UT)	-	-	-	-
9.	Daman and Diu (UT)	-	-	-	-
10.	Delhi	11	07	08	05
11.	Goa	-	-	-	-
12.	Gujarat	-	02	-	08
13.	Haryana	03	07	02	05
14.	Himachal Pradesh		02	01	-
15.	Jammu and Kashmir	02	-	-	-
16.	Jharkhand	-	-	01	01
17.	Karnataka	-	02	08	06
18.	Kerala	02	06	03	01
19.	Lakshadweep (UT)	-	-	-	-
20.	Madhya Pradesh	02	02	04	02
21.	Maharashtra	01	01	03	10
22.	Manipur	-	-	-	-
23.	Meghalaya	-	-	-	-
24.	Mizoram	-	-	-	-
25.	Nagaland	-	-	-	-
26.	Odisha[Orissa]	-	-	03	01
27.	Puducherry (UT)	-	-	-	-
28.	Punjab	02	03	-	04
29.	Rajasthan	05	01	07	06
30.	Sikkim	-	-	01	-
31.	Tamil Nadu	03	05	04	06
32.	Telangana	-	-	-	01
33.	Tripura	-	-	-	-
34.	Uttarakhand	01	-	-	-
35.	Uttar Pradesh	03	12	02	05
36.	West Bengal	-	-	-	-
	Total	46	63	58	70
